2013 ned kelly awards

In 1996, the Australian Crime Writers Association started the Ned Kelly Awards for crime writing. In 2013, it was held at the Brisbane Writers Festival on a day when my F key stopped working properly (in case any sentences don’t make sense, let’s blame that, or post-election brain-sludge.) Who were the winners of this fine prize, you ask? WELL I’LL TELL YOU.

Winner, Best First Fiction

Zane Lovitt, The Midnight Promise

I’m mighty pleased to hear that. I adored The Midnight Promise, its down-and-out, hardboiled detective and all the Melbourne noir spread liberally through the pages.

Winner, True Crime

Robin de Crespigny, The People Smuggler

I haven’t read this—I do need to read more true crime—but this story of Iraqi Ali Al Jenabi, who flees his country but yearns for his family and finds himself developing an ever more blurry moral code, has been given rave reviews.

Winner, Best Fiction

Geoffrey McGeachin, Blackwattle Creek

A longer review will follow shortly, but this 50s-set crime is another title I read, loved, and am thrilled to see winning this prize.

Winner, Sandra Harvey Short Story Award

Roger Vickery, Echoes from the Dolphin

An edited version o this will appear in the Sydney Morning Herald, and you’ll be able to find it in Scribe’s New Australian Stories 3.

Have you read any of these? What do you think, or what would you have voted for?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s